The best Spyware protection software?

Spysweeper from Webroot? This is not for viruses, but for adware, Trojans, spyware, malware, etc. My first experience with spy sweeper was a few years ago when one machine I had, seemed to be using an extreme amount of CPU. It seemed to me to be some type of virus/spyware/adware. I was using a beta version of Microsoft’s onecare at the time to protect my pc. OneCare did not find anything. I tried to download a few other products but they didn’t find anything either. I figured why not call Microsoft since they were offering free support on the beta for one care. I did, after an hour or so of trying to detect the spyware OneCare could not the MS rep told me here, try this link and download SpySweeper it usually finds everything. I downloaded and ran it. Sure enough it found the spyware and removed it. Even since then I have been using spysweeper. Spysweeper certainly does a good job of finding items on your PC, the only problem is it’s shields sometimes seem to consume a large amount of CPU time for no obvious reason. On occasion when I see that happening I will disable the shields and only run sweeps when once in a while and when I need to. Generally this is one of the tools I turn to when nothing else can find a problem. Given a recent experience I will likely try the built in windows defender first and follow up with spy sweeper. You can buy it retail for around $29.95, or possibly cheaper online.

Leave a comment